I used to think Scotch tasted like Scotch Tape

I always thought Scotch was something people only pretended to like. As it turns out, I just hadn’t had the good stuff yet. Sampling the various whisky’s, I started to develop a real taste for it. The Holy Trinity of the Island of Islay, which are LaPhroig, Lagavulin, and Ardberg, were my favorites. You can’t help but admire the reverence with which the Scotsman holds his liquor. The Arran Distillery has a few that deserve mention as well, including one aged in port barrels. I had a cough during the trip, so I was constantly being offered scotch to relieve my cold. This folk remedy appeared to be ineffective. Treat yourself to some samples of good scotch sometime to discover if you enjoy the taste of smoke and peat. Kilt recommended but not required.

Scotch Taste Chart. Try one from each corner to find the scotch for you.

Scotch Taste Chart. Try one from each corner to find the scotch for you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I used to think Scotch tasted like Scotch Tape

  1. Justin says:

    Any clue where a fellow can find decent Scotch here in the Bakken?

    It’s not getting any warmer here in the flatlands… πŸ˜‰

    • thesvenster says:

      I’ve seen some decent stuff at the liquor store at Cashwise in Williston. I will have to order a sampler of Scotches to share with you sometime. Religous/philosophical/political discussions could get much more interesting. We will just have to hide the knives and silverware in case things get too heated.

Leave a Reply

